FactCheck.org verifies the accuracy of claims made by politicians, public figures, and organizations to reduce the spread of misinformation.
Knowing where to find the information you need is often a challenging aspect of any research. The materials provided here offer reliable and vetted options. While not the only answers, these are certainly authoritative and will make your search a lot easier.
The Gale databases (immediately below here) are subscription resources, offering you access to options that are normally hidden behind paywalls; we have subscribed to these materials for you!
The web resources below are excellent paths into reliable materials that quickly narrow and focus your research.
As with all of our materials, you can certainly explore on your own or stop by the library for help.
Gale databases require a password.
⬅️ The passwords are provided at this link.
Grades 5-8
Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more. PASSWORD HERE.
Grades 8-12
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content. PASSWORD HERE.
Grades 9-12
Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources. PASSWORD HERE.
Grades 9-12
Combine the power of High School Research and Global Issues Research in one collection of results. PASSWORD HERE.
USEFUL WEBSITES
Science News Explores is a free, award-winning online publication dedicated to providing age-appropriate science news to learners, parents and educators.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, helping researchers find relevant work across the world of academic research.
The Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. It covers the whole gamut of topics.
Frontiers for Young Minds is an open-access academic journal that publishes articles "edited by kids for kids." This open-access scientific journal brings the latest research in real time.
